Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Chrome usage in windows 7 64 bit, memory - one tab open

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    2,042

    Chrome usage in windows 7 64 bit, memory - one tab open

    Just check the screenshot and do anyone of you got a clue of why so many chrome processes showing in Windows Task manager with just the one tab open? I have checked it often with one tab open and it remains same.

    http://img814.imageshack.us/img814/8...romememory.png
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Found this after a quick google search

    "Chrome uses 2 processes,tabs use 1 & most extensions use 1 each"


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    2,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Ashwin View Post
    Found this after a quick google search

    "Chrome uses 2 processes,tabs use 1 & most extensions use 1 each"

    lol and people hate Firefox for excess Memory usage. Chrome never worked as a stable browser for me till now, whenever I wanted to give it a fair try.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Avinash View Post
    lol and people hate Firefox for excess Memory usage. Chrome never worked as a stable browser for me till now, whenever I wanted to give it a fair try.
    same here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,162
    Multi-process web browser will soon be the trend avi. Don't worry FF will follow chrome here also. This increases the security and stability of a browser. This softpedia article will help you understand better
    Last edited by Alpha; 15-08-11 at 04:04 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    2,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    Multi-process web browser will soon be the trend avi. Don't worry FF will follow chrome here also. This increases the security and stability of a browser. This softpedia article will help you understand better
    Arnab, I am aware of the Multi-process approach by Chrome. My whole point here was even with this multi-process approach, Google chrome is least stable (at least for me) and Always gives me one issue or the other whenever I want to give it a fair try.

    Firefox on the other hand is still much more stable for me compared to Chrome.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    228
    Quote Originally Posted by Avinash View Post
    lol and people hate Firefox for excess Memory usage. Chrome never worked as a stable browser for me till now, whenever I wanted to give it a fair try.
    That's why I use Firefox as my main browser and sometimes Opera. Both are stable and have extensions.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,442
    Quote Originally Posted by Avinash View Post
    Arnab, I am aware of the Multi-process approach by Chrome. My whole point here was even with this multi-process approach, Google chrome is least stable (at least for me) and Always gives me one issue or the other whenever I want to give it a fair try.

    Firefox on the other hand is still much more stable for me compared to Chrome.
    I agree....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,162
    Offcourse choices of browsers can vary but never faced any stability issues with either FF or chrome. Yes opera, when i have tried, was still buggy.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •