Thread: Sony Ericsson issue

Sony Ericsson issue

Im really not sure where to post this,since it is not a computer issue but a mobile related issue,well here goes

IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS WITH A SONY ERICSSON MOBILE read this

Symptoms:OPERATION FAILED, JAVA APPS and GAMES NOT WORKING

RESOLUTION: USE UPDATE SERVICE TO PERFORM FLASHING, AND REINSTALL THE SOFTWARE

Continue reading for details

I have been using Sony k530i, a 3g enabled mobile, since 2007.
    I use it for browsing through Airtel, mainly for twitter and checking mails.
    Yesterday i was using my memory card on a USB memory card reader to transfer some songs, since its faster than bluetooth,
    and something happened to all my Java softwares and games on my mobile.

They were duplicated, i.e, each application had its own double and when i tried to delete either it said , Operation failed,
    I was stunned, i thought my mobile had crashed and immediately thought of contacting tech support,
    i sent them a mail regarding my issue, they havent replied yet, but i managed to resolve the issue, here is how.

I downloaded Sony update service from their official website and performed a usb flashing,
    (I have done something similar with Acer Asprire One for many of our customers, while i was working with Acer as a tech support exec )
    Anyway after flashing my phone, it said OS software is already updated and offered to reinstall the software in case it wasnt working.
    (It means reinstalling the phone like when it was made in the factory, pretty cool).

I downloaded the software (24 mb) from the update service, and it was successfully reinstalled and the issue no longer exists. Great :-)
    I have installed Snaptu, UCWEB, Opera Mini, Gmail app, Tea Shark, everything works perfectly now.